Make Something Monday: Picture Travel Wall

I love to travel and I have 14′ ceilings in my condo. So naturally I put together a picture collection spanning 4.5′ by 5.5′ of all the countries I’ve been to. While I can’t take all of the credit for this one (my mom gets some too), my picture travel wall is my favorite project in my condo. I have traveled to 15 countries starting from when I was 5 years old, and I’m hoping to go to many more.

Image   Image   Image

The first step was to decide what I wanted my travel wall to be made up of. I chose to have one picture from each country I’ve traveled to up on the wall. Next, I decided I wanted something else on the wall with my pictures. What makes more sense on a travel wall than a world map?

Once I knew what to include on my travel wall, I had to plan. I needed a layout that would allow for 15 pictures and a map. I found a vintage designed map at a local art store. While it was unique and fun, the trade off was that it wasn’t standard poster size for framing purposes. But no worries, my mom asked an art teacher at her school for a fix. I brought my map to a FedEx and chopped it in half with a paper cutter. At that point, there was no turning back. Once the map was split, I placed each half in a 16″x20″ acrylic frame with metal clips holding the back of the frame and the acrylic in place.

Image   Image   Image

I decided to place the map in the middle of the wall with the country pictures surrounding the map. While planning, it looked best to spread 16 8″x10″ photos around the map.  Looks like I’ll have to go to that 16th country sooner rather than later.

I would try to explain the measurements and hanging process, but my plan quickly went to hell and I had to wing it after hanging the first few 8″x10″ pictures. Fortunately, the project turned out ok in the end.

Image

Now onto the next project!

Leave a comment